NEW BEDFORD — For the 13th year, the Cape Verdean Recognition Scholarship Committee celebrated the accomplishments of SouthCoast scholars with a special ceremony and reception on Thursday night at the New Bedford Whaling Museum.

“We are awarding $40,000 to 42 high school graduates from the Greater New Bedford area,” committee chairwoman Marilyn Gonsalves said in a news release.

Gonsalves said the criteria to receive a scholarship is based on the following: grade point average, class rank, letters of recommendation, civic responsibility, community or school service, involvement in extracurricular activities, as well as job responsibilities, essay and financial need.

The 2017 recipients and the colleges they plan to attend are as follows: 

Nashon Almeida, University of Hartford
Ruth Monteiro Almeida, Bristol Community College
Naija Amado, Bristol Community College
Tanya Anacleto, Bristol Community College
Allannah Andrade, Lasell College
Irlanda Antunes, Bristol Community College
Spencer Berryman, UMass Dartmouth
Michael Carvalho, UMass Amherst
Michael Chang, UMass Amherst
Ronan Dasher. Johnson & Wales
Silvana DaVaiga. UMass Lowell
Ilidia dos Santos, Bristol Community College
Zenaida dos Santos, Bristol Community College
Ny-Jah Eastman, Suffolk University
Kianna Abu-Ray Fonseca, Emmanuel College
Jordyan Gamboa, Bridgewater State University
Sabrina Gomes, Boston College
Jane Kuphal, Boston College
Gregory Monteiro, Lasell College
Emily Newell, Bristol Community College
Kianna Noriega, UMass Dartmouth
Ariana Norman, Bristol Community College
Nicholas Norman, UMass Dartmouth
Merly Nunez, UMass Dartmouth
Daniel Perry, Cornell University
Bruno Pires, UMass Dartmouth
Advika Rajapakse, Johns Hopkins University
Skylah Reis, Harvard University
Amara Roderick, Rhode Island College
Ryland Roderick, Mass College of Pharmacy and Health Science
Melanie Santiago, Bridgewater State University
Geanesy Sequeira, Northeastern University
Alexias Soares, UMass Dartmouth
Erika Soto, Gallaudet University Washington
Amber Sousa, Emmanuel College
Silvia Sousa Maastriech, University Netherlands
Isaiah Spence, Brown University
Edmilson Tavares, Bristol Community College
Stephanie Teixeira, UMass Dartmouth
Jaylon Todman. Mass Maritime
Jacob Vinagre, Bridgewater State University
Noah Williams, Georgetown University